Project #3: Orbit Gum Package Turned Art

 

So I guess you could say that I have a pack a day… gum that is… well maybe not an entire pack a day, but at least one every two days.  Orbits is my gum of choice, Maui Melon being my all time favorite gum. I know this is starting to sound like an advertisement for the company, but it’s about to get crafty.

I noticed how colorful and interesting their gum packages always are… and so I decided to collect them for a month. This month I at Orange, Mint and Strawberry.  I cut up the packages with the designs showing and turned them into some beautiful artwork.

I found this wooden heart cutout at the local thrift store for 25 cents, I took that and decoupaged the gum box cut out squares onto it and then gave it about 4 coats of the mod podge and taaa daaa, trashy art!

You may not chew gum as much as I do, but think about some of the common wrappers that are thrown away each day, what could you turn them into?

UNTIL NEXT TIME, UPCYCLE ON EVERYONE!

3 comments

  1. alysse

    Great ideas! I love orbit too. Best new flavors and pretty packaging make them the most innovative gum company in a long time. 🙂

  2. Jill

    Wow! I’ve been saving my orbit gum packages for awhile now for the same reason as you: I wanted to make art! But I really didn’t know what I could do. Thank you for posting this; it’s a really great idea and I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

